Genre Guesstimation – Big Trouble in Little China (1986)


The idea behind this new feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of 80’s action movies…

big-trouble-in-little-china-1“Okay. You people sit tight, hold the fort and keep the home fires burning. And if we’re not back by dawn… call the president.” – Jack Burton

Number of Times Seen – Numerous times (cable in the 80’s and 27 Nov 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A truck driver gets involved with an ancient Chinese feud that includes mystical magic and the fight for immortality.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I recall enjoying as a kid, (in fact, I recall seeing it a lot on cable in the late 80’s) but haven’t seen in probably close to 25 years.

I know it’s considered a cult classic (like many of John Carpenter’s films), but I had trouble fully reconnecting with it.

I enjoyed it a lot because of its wild and crazy plotline, but I still felt that something was missing with it.

The characters were uniquely chosen and I thought the special effects were pretty cool for a mid-80’s (relatively) low budget movie.

John Carpenter and Kurt Russell know how to deliver and they do deliver here, giving us a fun, campy and wild adventure film that you can enjoy and laugh at as it’s happening.

Bottom Line – Fun and crazy cult movie, but I liked it much better as a kid than I did this time. Great characters and effects truly make this a cult classic. Recommended!

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Came close, but not close enough to be among my all time favorites of the genre

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

10 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Big Trouble in Little China (1986)

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Special – THANK YOU for your support! |

  2. Pingback: Genre Grandeur November Finale – Big Trouble in Little China (1986) |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1986 |

  4. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  5. Pingback: The Lamb’s February 2020 MOTM – My Rankings | MovieRob

  6. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | LAMBCAST #519 BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA MOTM

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.