Genre Grandeur – Red Dawn (1984)


For my second of 3 reviews for this month’s Genre Grandeur – 80’s action, here’s what I thought of Red Dawn.

Next month’s Genre will be Holiday movies (it can be any film about any holiday). To participate, just send me your review by 23rd of December to holiday@movierob.net and I’ll post it!

_______________________________

red dawn“Wolverines!” – Robert

Number of Times Seen – Who knows?? (Theater in ’84, cable, video, DVD and 25 Nov 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A band of high school students decide to find a way to fight back after WWIII begins and part of America is overrun by Russians and their allies.

My Take on it – I remember when this movie came out in the theaters and it was declared the very first movie to be issued a PG-13 rating due to the violence.

As a 10 year old, I didn’t care much about the rating, because I still managed to find a way to see it in the theater. 🙂

This movie took the action genre that was very popular in the late 70’s and early 80’s and decided to use many members of the Brat Pack to headline it.

The cast is amazing; Patrick Swayze, Lea Thompson, C. Thomas Howell, Charlie Sheen, Darren Dalton, Brad Savage and Jennifer Grey play the “kids” who end up leading the resistance against the Russians and their allies.

Yes, parts of this are corny since we are dealing with teens fighting an Army, but it is still a very well made movie.

This movie will always be imbedded in my mind as one of the greatest action movies of the decade because it “spoke” to me, my siblings and to our friends.

I still remember my friends and I playing soldier and screaming “WOLVERINES!!!” during a play assault.

The remake in 2012 was atrocious IMHO and I wish that Hollywood would start leaving great movies alone and stop trying to “copy” success, because more times than not, they end up failing.

Bottom Line – Great cast, a bit far-fetched, but still a movie that will always be one of my favorites. Highly Recommended

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

14 thoughts on “Genre Grandeur – Red Dawn (1984)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur November Finale – Big Trouble in Little China (1986) |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

  3. Pingback: Darren and Rob’s Movie Challenge Week #12 – Rob’s Challenge – Tomorrow When The War Began (2010) |

  4. Pingback: Darren and Rob’s Movie Challenge Week #13 – Rob’s Challenge – Tomorrow When The War Began (2010) |

  5. Pingback: Point Break (1991) |

  6. Pingback: The 5th Wave (2016) |

  7. Pingback: Red Dawn (1984) – Encore Review | MovieRob

  8. Pingback: Red Dawn (1984) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.