Big Hero 6 (2014)


big hero 6“If I could have any superpower right now, it would be to be able to go through that phone and give you a big hug.” – Fred

Number of Times Seen – 1 (22 Dec 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A genius teenager creates a team of superheroes that includes a robot in order to find the man who stole his invention and ruined his life.

My Take on it – As a big fan of comic books as a kid, I can usually appreciate the way they are transferred to the screen regardless of whether I’m familiar with the characters or the specific comics they are quelled from.

This movie is no exception to that.

I was enthralled from the get-go when we were feasted with the landscape of San Fransokyo which was an amalgam of the landscapes of San Francisco and Toyko.

The animation here is wondrous and there were even a few parts where I actually didn’t believe I was watching an animated movie which shows how much animation has advanced over the years.

The plot and story of this movie is done extremely well and all of the characters are extremely interesting.  The best character tho is obviously the marshmallow looking Baymax who was able to capture anyone’s heart with his loveable loyalty and eagerness to help.

The main character of Hiro is also great. He is a complex teenager who despite his advanced mental faculties, still shows that he is a kid in the way he reacts to things.

My one disappointment with this film is a complaint I have about Disney in general and that is: why do they constantly have most of their main characters as orphans or have at least lost one parent?  It has gotten to be too much and kids need to understand that even if you have both parents, you can have a happy ending.

Regardless, this is a great addition to the Disney family and I can’t wait to see if they make a sequel, because this kind of film warrants one.

BTW, if you haven’t seen this yet, make sure to stay until the end to see the End credit sequence.  It is quite amazing and adds a bit to what we think we know about the characters.

Bottom Line – Another great addition to the ever growing Disney canon. Still can’t understand their obsession with orphans tho. Great animation that even seems real part of the time.  Amazing characters that can easily become part of a series especially Baymax. Highly Recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

11 thoughts on “Big Hero 6 (2014)

  1. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – December 2014 |

  2. Agreed. 100% agreed. So much fun and Baymax is the BEST. I tell you what though, I don’t envy the Academy, whom I’m sure will have to choose between this and The Lego Movie. Gees, not to mention How to Train Your Dragon 2! I could never do it…

    Like

  3. Pingback: MovieRob’s Top Ten for 2014 releases |

  4. I loved this movie. I loved Baymax so much! He was symbolic of the love of a brother for his brother. I love the group and the style of the movie. It’s got such heart and looks so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: My 2015 Oscar Scorecard |

  6. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

  7. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  8. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #8 – Disney Animated Films |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.