Leaving Las Vegas (1995)


leaving las vegas“That’s nice talk, Ben – keep drinking. Between the 101-proof breath and the occasional bits of drool, some interesting words come out. ” – Sera

Number of Times Seen – 2 (Video in ’96 and 1 Jan 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A down and out alcoholic movie screenwriter goes to Las Vegas to drink himself to death and befriends a lonely prostitute.

My Take on it – I didn’t understand the point of this movie back when I saw it in 1996 and having rewatched it, I can’t claim to be any more wiser about it.

I didn’t find it interesting at all watching Nicholas Cage slowly try to kill himself over the course of this movie and the boring conversations between him and Elisabeth Shue didn’t help the situation at all.

Inexplicably, Cage won an Oscar for his role here.

I guess it’s understandable that everyone in the Academy just loved to see Cage slowly kill himself because I think this is by far, one of his worst instead of best performance.

Unfortunately, even having Elisabeth Shue in this doesn’t help make this any more interesting to view.

Bottom Line – Pointless story about two lost souls who don’t even try to help one another. Don’t know why Cage won an Oscar for playing this character. Even Shue, the best Babysitter any kid could want couldn’t help here.

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

12 thoughts on “Leaving Las Vegas (1995)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1995 |

  2. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

  3. Pingback: Movies From the Hat V #36 – Al’s Pick – Barfly (1987) |

  4. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actor – Oscars 1995 |

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Director – Oscars 1995 |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actress – Oscars 1995 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.