Movies From the Hat V #36 – Al’s Pick – Barfly (1987)


This is my 2985th Review

Thanks to Al R. of writeoutofla.com  for this recommendation.

 

“I’d hate to be you if I were me.” – Eddie

Number of Times Seen – 1 (23 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A drunk pet and writer tries to get his life together but just can’t find a way to stop his destructive behavior.

My Take on it – When thinking of an actor who could play the type of character portrayed here, Mickey Rourke is definitely high on that list.

He is actually perfect in the role of a character with no cares in the world.

The story line is quite static and the whole time we feel as if we are running in place not getting anywhere at all.

None of the characters do anything that makes us sympathize or care about them or what would happen because they themselves don’t care.

This film was quite reminiscent for me of Leaving Las Vegas (1995) from the perspective that we follow characters who don’t seem to care much about life or even attempt to make their lives any better.

Bottom Line – Rourke seems perfectly cast here as a man with no cares in the world.  The story feels as if it is walking in place and doesn’t move forward at all.  None of the characters are very sympathetic and I really just didn’t care what would happen to any of them. In some ways, this film reminded me of Leaving Las Vegas (1995) where a character doesnt even want to attempt to make a better life for himself.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The apartment building where Wanda’s apartment was located was an actual building where Charles Bukowski and his lover Jane Baker Cooley, the real-life counterparts to Henry and Wanda, had lived. No one knew this until Bukowski, who was watching the filming, remembered. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #36 – Al’s Pick – Barfly (1987)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1987 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – January 2018 – Faye Dunaway

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.