Selma (2014)


selma“We must March!, We Must Stand up! ” – Martin Luther King Jr.

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Jan 2015)

Brief Synopsis – Historical account of the march led by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. From Selma to Montgomery, Alabama to protest unfair voting laws still in effect in 1965.

My Take on it – This is a movie that was far off most people’s radar (myself included) until very recently.

I can’t recall the last time I watched and experienced such a powerful biopic.

The themes and tone of this movie puts us right in the thick of things in 1965.

We are shown all sides of the conflict and the way this was filmed gives us perspective on what was happening during those difficult days.

David Oyelowo does a great job portraying King and helps us see the charisma that he carried with him during everything he did.

I was actually shocked to discover two important facts about King from watcging this movie.

1. That this was the first theatrical biopic that centered around a part of King’s life.

2. That when King was assassinated three years later, he was 39, which is two years younger than I am now. I think about all that he did up until that young age which is more than most people are able to accomplish throughout their entire lives.

I was sad that this movie didn’t get more love last night at the Globes, but was still entremely happy that it was able to win best song for ‘Glory’ written by Common and John Legend.

Here’s the video.

We need more films like this one!

Bottom Line – Very powerful biopic that tells just a small part of King’s fight during the 60’s. Excellent cast. Great title song by Common and John Legend. Highly recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

12 thoughts on “Selma (2014)

  1. Been reading some things about a dodgy portrayal of LBJ both by Wilkinson and the way the script has him portrayed. Don’t think it will be enough to sway me to a negative vote here, but I’m a little bothered that in a film that seems to insist on showing us the cold, hard truth — why does it have to go and take a historical liberty by basically inventing a villain? I’ve read things like Wilkinson’s LBJ is daamn near a racist himself; a fact which simply wasn’t true of the president.

    Great review Rob, I look forward to being able to put my two cents in on DSB on this at some point.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – January 2015 |

  4. Pingback: MovieRob’s Top Ten for 2014 releases |

  5. Pingback: My 2015 Oscar Scorecard |

  6. Pingback: Selma (2014) – Encore Review |

  7. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – February 2015 |

  8. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.