Midnight Run (1988)


 midnight run“You two are the dumbest bounty hunters I have ever seen! You couldn’t even deliver a bottle of milk! ” – Jonathan Mardukas

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (video in ’88, cable, video, 14 Oct 1992, DVD and 25 Jan 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A bounty hunter must deliver a runaway blue collar criminal to LA by Friday night in order to collect his fee, but nothing is as easy as it seems.

My Take on it – I have always loved watching this movie.

It is just a really fun 2 hours that included laughs, chases, an interesting plot and of course amazing chemistry between the two lead actors.

Robert DeNiro and Charles Grodin found a way to have their characters dislike each other immensely, but also grow as a team during their cross-country trek from New York to LA.

We learn so much about their characters, their histories and their motivations solely through their banter and conversations along the way.

I love that the score by Danny Elfman is amazing and works so well with the action of the movie that I am still humming it two days after I watched it.

Listen to it here

 

 

Bottom Line – DeNiro and Grodin are excellent together. Their chemistry and the light heartedness of the plot make this movie a winner. Great script, dialogue and a catchy score help elevate this and make it so much fun to watch. Highly recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Midnight Run (1988)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Taking Care of Business (1990) |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1988 |

  4. Pingback: Genre Grandeur – Midnight Run (1988) – MovieRob (Encore Review) |

  5. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | LAMBCAST #426: MIDNIGHT RUN MOTM

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.