Movies From the Hat 2 – Out Cold (2001)


Recommended by Tom of Digital Shortbread

(Recommendation #17 of 30)

Tnx Tom!

out cold“No regrets, that’s my motto. That and everybody Wang Chung tonight. ” – Luke

Number of Times Seen – 1 (25 May 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A group of friends who work at a lodge in Alaska try to stop an investor from buying the place and firing them.

My Take on it – When I read the synopsis of this movie, I had hoped that it would be a return to the famous comedy romps of the 70’s and 80’s.

Unfortunately, it doesnt even come close because most of the pranks and jokes just aren’t funny enough. (There are 2 or 3 funny pranks on Zack Galifinakis)

Animal House (1979) and Caddyshack (1980) did it right, but this one falls flat.

There are some really cool snowboarding stunts tho.

Bottom Line – Mediocre attempt to channel 70’s & 80’s comedy romps like Animal House and Caddyshack that just isn’t as funny. Cool snowboarding stunts. Isn’t as memorable as I had hoped it would be.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The character of Barry is played by Todd Richards, a professional snowboarder and member of the 1998 US Olympic snowboarding team and is probably the most capable member of the cast on a snowboard. However, in the film he never leaves his wheelchair.  (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Movies From the Hat 2 – Out Cold (2001)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2001 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.