Movies From the Hat 2 – The Boondock Saints (1999)


 Recommended by Drew of Drew’s Movie Reviews

(Recommendation #27 of 30)

Tnx Drew

boondock“Checkov? Well, this here’s McCoy. We find a Spock, we got us an away team. ” – Murphy

Number of Times Seen – 1 (28 May 2015)

Brief Synopsis – Twin brothers decide to take it upon themselves to start to get rid of the criminal element in Boston.

My Take on it – This movie is yet another example of a movie that I had never heard of before it was recommended to me for this series.

I had no idea what to ecpect and the first half of the movie thoroughly impressed me with its blend of humor and action that gives off the feeling that they don’t know which genre this movie should be perceived as belonging to.

The three main characters are all great and instead of a battle of wits between them, we are given complex puzzles for the police to solve in order to understand what is happening.

I loved how they showed us the crimes after we first see the aftermath in a unique way.

My main complaint is that this movie has too many contrived coincidences that hinder the believability of the story.

Bottom Line – Clever mivie that isn’t sure whether it wants to be serious or humorous and successfully transitions between both sides throughout the movie. Loved how crime scenes are visually recreated for us which adds to the entertainment factor. A few contrived coincidences in the plot hurt this a bit. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The woman that the priest refers to in the opening scene of the film, Catherine Genovese, was an actual person. She was raped and murdered by a serial rapist in 1964 outside her home in Queens while 38 eyewitnesses did nothing to save her. This apathetic bystander phenomenon is now referred to as the bystander effect or “Genovese Syndrome”, stemming from the inability to take action or to know whether action has already occurred. In both The Boondock Saints and the graphic novel Watchmen (2009), the story of Kitty Genovese inspires a vigilante to go to war against crime.(From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

11 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat 2 – The Boondock Saints (1999)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. This was an absolute favourite of mine when it came out. I particularly love the scene with Willem Dafoe where he reenacts the crime scene.

    Like

  3. I liked your review but i’m gonna have to disagree with you on this one. This movie, i felt joins the list of a hundred other films who have ripped off Pulp Fiction in one way or the other. This film itself is ridden with flaws like inconsistent pacing and a scenery chewing William Dafoe and again an overall inconsistency with story, the humor feels accidental, as if they were trying to be serious. Still though it is enjoyable at many times but ultimately mediocre, in my opinion

    Like

    • Guess I like this one a bit more than u did but I can hear ur criticism. Im not too sure they tried making it serious, I think the humor is intentoonsl to help lighten the mood a bit. Tnx for stopping by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.