Black or White (2014)


Black_or_White_2014_BR“I don’ think that went as bad as you think it did. She’ll make a ruling in a few days. Who knows, she may even surprise us. ” – Rick

Number of Times Seen – 1 (2 Jun 2015)

Brief Synopsis – After his wife dies in a tragic accident, a man must fight for custody of his grand daughter that he raised from birth.

My Take on it – This isn’t a terrible movie, but it is flawed from start to finish.

Kevin Costner is totally miscast here as the lead and I wonder why he even thought he could take on this role. He comes across too comical in a role that is meant to be much more serious.

When I saw the trailer a few months back, I expected to see an emotional and heartwarming tale, but neither is clearly evident here.

The important racial issues dealt with here don’t feel genuine enough and are more than laughable.

The story is so predictable, which in some cases is worthwhile, but here the journey to the predictable ending just isnt worth it because it doesn’t manage to evoke the emotions that it should.

Slightly better than average.

Bottom Line – Not as heartwatming and emotional as I had expected. Costner seems way out of his league here and he comes off too comical when he is meant to be taken serious. Very predictable and the racial issues don’t feel genuine enough.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Boasts Kevin Costner’s worst wide opening weekend gross after Rumor Has It… (2005) (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Black or White (2014)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.