Insurgent (2015)


Insurgent-Movie“Hey, Tris. I really like your hair, by the way. Did you try to cut it all short and weird like that? ” – Peter

Number of Times Seen – 1 (15 Jul 2015)

Brief Synopsis – After successfully managing to escape in the last movie, the young rebels must find a way to expose the truth to the world while still trying to evade the enemy.

My Take on it – Usually we expect a sequel to give us a longer and larger glance into the world created for us to view where less exposition is needed because that was previously covered.

This movie gives us some of that, but unlike in the first movie, this was more of an action movie than of one dealing with the philosophical aspects of creating a new society and it unfortunately suffers for it.

I’ve never read the book, so I’m not sure how faithful this is to it, but to me it felt as if they were trying too hard to create a franchise that could capitalize on the Hunger Games series’ success.

There was a ‘trick’ that they repeatedly kept utilizing and it got (to me at least) a bit annoying and I kept wishing they’d stop it.

This movie actually ended with some closure and I believe they should have ended here but apparently they have some things in store for us in the next installment (s).

I really hope it’ll be more worthwhile for us.

Bottom Line – This chapter the deals less with philosophical issues and tries to rely solely on brute force and action to get its point across which isn’t nearly enough. Too many tricks in the story made the idea feel way too overused. Would’ve been happier if this saga ended here because I’m not sure in what way the next chapter could help us.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – After cutting her hair for the role of Hazel Grace Lancaster for The Fault in Our Stars (2014), Shailene Woodley decided she did not want to wear a wig for Insurgent. In the book, Tris does cut her hair but not as short as seen in the movie. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Insurgent (2015)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – September 2020 – Naomi Watts

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.