Terminator Genisys (2015)


terminator genisys “Goddamn time traveling robots! Covering up their goddamn tracks! I hate them!” – O’Brien

Number of Times Seen – 1 (12 Aug 2015)

Brief Synopsis – When Kyle Reese is sent back in time to protect Sarah Connor in 1984, he arrives to find that someone has tampered with the way things were suppose to be.

My Take on it – I am an avid advocate against excessive remakes and sequels in order to inject fresh ideas into movies.

That being said, there has been a resurgence lately of reboots of franchises that have worked well over the last few years, Star Trek (2009) is the prime example of that since it builds on the original idea and adapts it to our technology while not destroying what came previously.

This movie does a wonderful job of altering the original time line a la Back to the Future Part II (1989) and even amazes at the way they copy footage from the original movie in order to eventually cause a skew in the original time line. (The fact that this was released in 2015, the same year that BTTF2 began that time skew didn’t go unnoticed in my eyes.) 🙂

Yes, there is no James Cameron look for this movie, but it still feels like it encapsulates the essence of the first two Terminator movies but at the same time they are able to update and adapt the technology to a society familiar to moviegoers in 2015.

I want to thank my friend Kieron over at What About the Twinkie? who warned me (and everyone else) back in April not to watch the spoiler filled trailer for this movie.

I watched it after watching the movie and was so happy that I had done because otherwise many of the reveals in this movie would have been wasted and I think that helped contribute to the fact that I am in the minority of people who actually loved this movie.

This is a perfect reason for me to try and avoid trailer whenever possible for movies that I potentially will want to see in order to keep it as pure as possible when watching for the first time.

The choices of Jai Courtney and Emilia Clarke to replace Micael Biehn and Linda Hamilton were great ones because I felt that they were very similar acted and believed that they were the same characters.

I can’t wait to see what they have planned for us in the next two sequels. (don’t worry, I don’t plan to watch those trailers either)

Bottom Line – Loved the way that they were able to reboot the whole series by making changes in the time line a la Back to the Future Part II (1989).  This movie keep the essence of the original Terminator movie while at the same time updating and adapting it for current moviegoers.  Am extremely glad that I never watched the spoiler-filled trailer and will be extremely careful in the future not to watch trailers when possible.  Courtney and Clarke are great choices to replace Hamilton and Biehn.  Can’t wait for the next installment. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Jai Courtney (Kyle Reese) and Emilia Clarke (Sarah Connor) were both born in 1986, which makes them 30 years younger than original Reese and Connor actors Michael Beihn and Linda Hamilton from The Terminator (1984). Beihn and Hamilton were both born in 1956. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

14 thoughts on “Terminator Genisys (2015)

  1. Great review, Rob. I really enjoyed what you had to say, probably because I also really enjoyed this movie. I love they reset the series with multiple timelines. I like the Back to the Future comparison too. Spot on. You also make some great points about trailers in general. I had fun with this sequel, and reviewing it. I would also rank it 3rd. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

  3. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #3 – Arnold Schwartznegger Films |

  4. Pingback: Terminator Genisys (2015) - Riley on Film

  5. Pingback: Terminator Genisys (2015) - Riley Central

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.