Changing Lanes (2002)


Changing_Lanes “Money. You… you think I want money? What I want is my morning back. I need you to give my time back to me. Can you give me back my time? Can you give my time back to me? Huh? Can you? ” – Doyle

Number of Times Seen – 2 (5 Jun 2006 and 1 Nov 2015)

Brief Synopsis – Two men who have a fender bender while rushing to court try and pay back the other for ruining their day.

My Take on it – This is a very tense and interesting movie.

It takes a normal everyday situation and expands the repercussions of a small event to help bring two men to a point where they want nothing more than to make the other have a worse day then they are having.

Ben Affleck and Samuel L. Jackson are great choices for these two roles because we can really believe their situations and we empathize with their predicaments.

Both characters have moments of clarity where they can stop the madness but the pressure keeps building up in a way that they can’t help themselves.

This movie shows how easily pressure situations can make people lose control to a point where they just don’t think clearly.

Bottom Line – Jackson and Affleck are both great here. They both have their moments of clarity that you know that they are trying to let the good inside prevail but pressure causes that to keep changing.  Shows how easily one can be pushed to the edge when dealing with pressure situations in life. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – It was actor Samuel L. Jackson’s choice for his character to wear a purple hat. Jackson’s characters often feature the color purple: Mr. Glass wears purple clothing in Unbreakable (2000) and Mace Windu has a purple light saber in Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002).  (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Changing Lanes (2002)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2002 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.