Ishtar (1987)


ishtar “I’ll tell you what I told Tony Bennett. Sing songs people already know. That way they’ll still have something to applaud.” – Marty Freed

Number of Times Seen – 1 (23 May 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Two pathetic songwriters get a job in a small African country where they end up getting involved in a plot to overthrow the government

My Take on it – Paul over at In My Cluttered Attic challenged me to watch this film and as I’m only willing to oblige movie challenges, I decided to take the plunge to see if this movie is truly as bad as everyone has claimed for nearly 30 years.

It truly is!

From start to finish this film was absurdly silly and I know wonder (like millions of movie fans have wondered over the last 3 decades) what would possess Two Oscar winners like Dustin Hoffman and Warren Beatty to sign on to a turkey like this one.

The plot is completely crazy and the characters are extremely pathetic that we don’t care at all what will eventually happen to them.

Bottom Line – Really was a terrible movie and I’m shocked that Hoffman and Beatty really went through with this. Plot is extremely silly and the characters are so pathetic that we really don’t care what happens to them.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – In one of Gary Larson’s “The Far Side” comic strips, captioned “Hell’s Video Store,” the entire store is stocked with nothing but copies of Ishtar (1987). Larson later apologized, saying “When I drew the above cartoon, I had not actually seen ‘Ishtar.’ Years later, I saw it on an airplane, and was stunned at what was happening to me: I was actually being entertained. Sure, maybe it’s not the greatest film ever made, but my cartoon was way off the mark. There are so many cartoons for which I should probably write an apology, but this is the only one which compels me to do so.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Ishtar (1987)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1987 |

  2. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | LAMBCAST #408: ISHTAR MOTM

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.