Demolition (2015)


demolition_poster2“Man loses his wife, he’s a widower. Child loses a parent, they’re an orphan. But losing a child… there is no word for this. And it shouldn’t be. ” – Phil

Number of Times Seen – 1 (17 Jul 2016)

Brief Synopsis – After suffering a tragedy, a young executive begins to rethink the important things in his life.

My Take on it – Jake Gyllenhaal has shown recently how great an actor he can be and he foes a very good job here as the main character.

The problem that I had with this film tho has more to do with the story then with the acting tho.

In addition to Gyllenhaal, Chris Cooper does a great job (as always) and plays the grieving executive extremely well.

The story isn’t as gripping as I would gave hoped and instead of drawing me in, I felt that I was being pushed further and further away with each subsequent scene.

I expected more from Naomi Watts whose character needed better development IMHO.

I had a lot if trouble caring for any of the characters because they all felt too distant from the viewer.

Bottom Line – Gyllenhaal is very good here, but the story isn’t as gripping as it could probably have been. Cooper brings his A-game and can always be counted on. Couldn’t relate enough to the characters and had trouble caring for any of them.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Third film to star Jake Gyllenhaal and Chris Cooper, after Jarhead (2005) and October Sky (1999). (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Demolition (2015)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

  3. Pingback: Demolition (2015) – Encore Review |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.