Genre Guesstimation – Poltergeist (2015)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Jane of 500 Days of Film  She has chosen another genre that is well out of my own comfort zone but I am once again up for the challenge.  We will be reviewing our favorite Horror Films

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Aug by sending them to horrorjane@movierob.net  Try to think out of the box! Great choice Jane!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Horror Movies…

poltergeist 2015“We’re gonna get in big trouble” – Madison

Number of Times Seen – 1 (11 Aug 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A family moves into a new home which seems to be haunted.  Remake of the film from 1982.

Take on it –I’ve never understood (and probably never will understand) why Hollywood has a fascination with remaking movies.

WE are in an age where it is possible to virtually see any and every film ever made and instead of watching a remake, most people have a way to watch the original.

In general, the original movies are usually better and the remakes are done just to try and “cash in” on the success of the original film.

This is a prime example.

This movie (IMHO) adds to new information or value to the original film from 34 years ago.

I may not be a real fan of horror movies, but I know that the original is more entertaining and speaks more to the audience than this one is able to.

Even the eeriness factor is so much higher on the original and this new brunette little girl just isn’t Heather O’Rourke.

If you’re gonna watch something like this, see the original.

Bottom Line – Another wasteful remake of a successful 80’s film.  Adds absolutely nothing to the original premise and isn’t even close to matching its eeriness. Not something that needed an update at all.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Almost half of the costumes and props used in the movie were sold to a fan in England before the movie hit theaters. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not at all. Cant even understand how and why they even wanyted to remake this movie.

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Poltergeist (2015)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur August Finale – The Descent (2005) – 500 Days of Film |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – November 2019 – Sam Rockwell

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.