Movies From the Hat IV #26 – Emma’s Pick – An Inspector Calls (1954)


This is my 2485th Review

Thanks to Emma of EmmaKWall.com for this recommendation.

inspector“She wasn’t very pretty when I saw her last in the infirmary. ” – Inspector Goole

Number of Times Seen – 1 (5 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A family is surprised when a mysterious detective appears with news that will affect them all.

My Take on it – I have always enjoyed Emma’s recommendations to me (well, usually :0 ) and after failing to give me something I would like last time, Napolean Dynamite (2004) she went back to choosing an older British mystery since I loved her selection of The League of Gentleman (1960) for my second Movies From the Hat.

This time, she once again chose a film that I had never heard of and was quite interested to watch after reading a bit about it.

I loved the way that this film played out because it is done in a way that keeps things interesting the whole way through.

I have always been a fan of stories told from multiple perspectives and here they do just that in order to give us the full picture of what has happened.

The dialogue is brilliantly written and helps us visualize so much of what is being told to us.

The cast is quite good here but Alistair Sim steals every scene he is in as the Inspector trying to figure out what really happened.  I have only seen him in one other movie A Christmas Carol (1951) which he was also superb in and I am now even more interested in seeing more of his performances since he is great in both of the films I’ve seen.

If anyone has some recommendations about his other performances, please let me know.

Bottom Line – Really enjoyed the way this played out because it was very interesting to watch things move along. I loved the use of telling a story from multiple angles which gives us a broader perspective on the events. The cast is quite good but Sim is perfect as the inspector. Excellent dialogue keeps things fun along the way because it gives us so much more to visualize. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Brian Worth and Alastair Sim previously costarred in A Christmas Carol (1951) as Fred and Ebenezer Scrooge. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

10 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat IV #26 – Emma’s Pick – An Inspector Calls (1954)

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this Rob! I had only watched it myself for the first time a few weeks before recommending it 🙂

    As soon as it was five minutes in, I was hooked! I love mysterious films like this and I agree Alistair Sim stole the show! I’d only ever seen him in A Christmas Carol before, too!

    I’ll be sticking with the British classics I reckon! Glad they go down well 🙂 though I still love Napoleon Dynamite! Lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Films I Watched In: August & September | emmakwall (explains it all)

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1954 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.