Road House (1989)


road-house“I want you to be nice until it’s time to not be nice. ” – Dalton

Number of Times Seen – at least twice (cable in the 90’s and 8 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A professional bouncer is hired to shape up a bar in a corrupt town.

My Take on it – This is a film that everyone who has seen remembers it but not necessarily for good reasons.  

The premise and story are extremely silly and I still wonder what executive was pitched a story like this and decided to green light it.

That being said, its quite entertaining watching this because its so incredibly laughable.

The film is presented as a serious story but it comes off as a comedy because of how silly it all is.

The acting is completely stale and the action scenes are too silly to even describe.

There is a scene that everyone discusses due to its sheer brutality but that too is completely over the top.

All in all, I can understand how this film became a cult classic but it will never be mistaken with being a good and enjoyable film.

Bottom Line – Fun movie with a terrible story and plot.  Most scenes are more laughable than they should be. The acting is completely stale.  The action is silly and the main scene that everyone remembers for its brutality is also extremely laughable. It’s understandable how this became a cult classic but it will never be mistaken for being a good and enjoyable film.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – According to Kelly Lynch, whenever Bill Murray sees her sex scene with Patrick Swayze on television, he calls her husband, Mitch Glazer, to tease him about it. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Road House (1989)

  1. That is one awesome bit of trivia Rob! Hahah! Oh man. Good old Bill Murray.

    Actually I have not seen Road House (I know, I know. I have already turned in my Film Critic card. I’m embarrassed) but this does seem like a really silly film, despite how everyone seems to love it and embrace it all the same. Maybe even BEACUSE it’s so silly and nonsensical. Maybe one day I’ll give it a watch. I’ll keep your thoughts in mind when I do

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1989 |

Let me Know what you think!!

