The Legend of Tarzan (2016)


legend-of-tarzan“You, are Tarzan. Lord of the apes, King of the jungle. “Me, Tarzan. You, Jane.” ” – George Washington Williams

Number of Times Seen – 1 (23 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – After starting his new life in England, Tarzan is sent by the government to return to the jungles of Africa to help ensure peace.

My Take on it – I had hoped that this would be a return to form for the character of Tarzan but instead was treated to poorly done carbon copy of The Last of the Mohicans (1992).

The plot is too strange and convoluted and leads things in circles instead of in a straight line.

Nothing feels unique and original.

The characters all feel like typical Hollywood stereotypes.

Even with some great actors involved in this film, none of them manage to give a memorable perfornance.

Basically, stay far away from this mess.

Bottom Line – Complete waste of time. Feels too much like a poor carbon copy of The Last of the Mohicans (1992) instead of an original story about Tarzan returning to the jungle. The plot is very strange and the characters all feel like typical Hollywood stereotypes across the board with no originality in sight.  None of the actors are memorable in these roles.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Alexander Skarsgård said that one of the main reasons he took this role was to impress his father Stellan Skarsgård. He said, “My dad is a massive Tarzan fan. Growing up, we had these VHS cassettes of the Johnny Weissmuller films and that was my introduction to the character. But those films are seventy years old and so much time has passed that I think mine is a fresh take. I’ll never compete with Johnny Weissmuller, but I just wanted to impress my father. He was thrilled; he was more excited than I was.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “The Legend of Tarzan (2016)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.