Genre Guesstimation – Tombstone (1993)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Next month’s Genre has been chosen by Catherine of Thoughts All Sorts. We will be reviewing our favorite Westerns set in the “old West” – so, that excludes Contemporary Westerns i.e. No Country for Old Men, Hud, Desperado, Junior Bonner etc.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Jan by sending them to oldwesterncat@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Catherine!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Western Movies…

tombstone“From now on I see a red sash, I kill the man wearing it. So run you cur. And tell the other curs the law is coming. You tell ’em I’m coming! And Hell’s coming with me you hear! Hell’s coming with me! ” – Wyatt Earp

Number of Times Seen – Twice (Cable in the 90’s and 12 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Retelling of the story of how the Earp’s brothers decided to try and story villains who disrupt the town that they chose to move to after retiring from work as lawmen.

My Take on it – I decided that in order to make my guest choices of the Genre for the Genre Grandeur series more personal (and expand my own personal horizons of these genres), I will take a recommendation from my guest for a film to watch for this Genre Guesstimation series.

This film was Catherine’s choice for me to watch.

This is a film that I saw years ago on cable and didn’t remember very much about it.

Thankfully Catherine gave me a reason to rewatch this film to jog my memory and perhaps give me a chance to add it to my favorites of the genre.

I really enjoyed the fact that this film doesn’t end with the famous shooting at the OK Coral and instead uses that as a pivot point in the film to continue the story for years afterwards.

The way that the story is told is quite compelling and you constantly want to know what will happen as things keep moving forward.

This gives us the feeling that we can see what the old West really was like and if it wasn’t for men like the Earps brothers who were courageous and faithful defenders of law and order, who knows what would have ended up happening.

Excellent cast helps make this lots of fun to watch because you can really play who’s who since there are at least 17 actor/actresses involved with this film that have at some point or another headlined a film by themselves.

The one drawback of this film is the fact that it drags a bit towards the end and it’s too bad that it wasn’t slightly tighter.

Bottom Line – Liked the way that they tell this story because it doesn’t culminate with the shootout at the OK Coral and instead continues the escapades and work of the characters for years more.  Great all around cast helps make this film so interesting to watch.  The story is told quite compellingly and we get a real picture of how wild the west really could get and if it wasn’t for courageous men fighting injustice, who knows what would have happened.  The story drags a bit towards the end, but overall it’s a very interesting film to watch. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Val Kilmer has been quoted as saying that screenwriter Kevin Jarre insisted the actors wear real wool costumes, in accordance with the time period. In the Birdcage Theater scene, Val Kilmer says, a thermometer was placed on the set, and it read 134 degrees Fahrenheit. Kilmer suggested jokingly that this was the reason Doc Holliday killed so many people: “It’s just, like, he wore wool in the summer, in the Arizona territory, and that made him mad.” (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Comes close, but drags a bit along the way despite a compelling story.

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Tombstone (1993)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur January Finale – Once Upon A Time in the West (1968) – Thoughts All Sorts |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1994 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – May 2017 – Bill Paxton

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1993 |

  5. Pingback: The Lamb’s February 2019 MOTM – My Rankings | MovieRob

  6. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | LAMBCAST #465 TOMBSTONE MOTM

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.