Frailty (2001)


“Sometimes truth defies reason.” – Fenton

Number of Times Seen – 1 (3 May 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A man shows up at a local FBI office claiming to know the identity of a serial killer.

My Take on it – This is one of Bill Paxton’s films that I never really heard about until recently during a conversation with Heather from The MILFcast.

Her description of this film really perked up my interest and I immediately added it to my watchlist.

This was also Paxton’s directorial debut and he does a great job framing the story that is mostly told in flashback, but gives us enough information about what is currently happening to make it all seem quite realistic and interesting the whole way through.

They do a great job keeping us guessing the entire time as to what s really going on.

The cast is superb and Paxton along with Powers Boothe and Matthew McConaughey all do wonderful jobs in this story and help keep things captivating all the way until the last scene.

I’m not quite sure why many people consider this film to be a horror film because I think that it fits more into the category of a crime thriller with a bit of a psychological twist to it all.

Bottom Line – Very enjoyable story told mostly via flashback that keeps things interesting the whole way through. Loved the way they keep us guessing the entire time as to what really is happening. Great performances by the cast help make this quite captivating all the way until the very end. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Directors James Cameron, Sam Raimi and author Stephen King all singled out Frailty (2001) for high praise. King thought it one of the best horror movies of its year. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Frailty (2001)

  1. I love this movie! I agree it’s more of a thriller. I love the flashback scenes and the dark, rainy night as the interview is taking place. All great performances and just generally a great thriller!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – May 2017 – Bill Paxton

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2001 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.