Moonstruck (1987)


“I just want you to know no matter what you do, you’re gonna die, just like everybody else. ” – Rose

Number of Times Seen – at least twice (Video in the 90’s and 9 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A young Italian widow falls in love with her new fiancee’s brother.

My Take on it – This is a film that I saw years ago and didn’t like it at all.

I purposely avoided it in the years since and decided that it was about time to check it out again.

I must admit tho that I have never really been much of a fan of Nicholas Cage’s acting ability (if you wanna call it that) and Cher is a much better singer than she is as an actress (despite somehow winning an Oscar for this role).

The choice of using the two of them as the leads in this film is a strange one and they both lack the proper on screen chemistry to make it work even better.

The real stars of this film are the supporting roles played by Olympia Dukakis (who also won an Oscar here, this time tho, deservingly), Vincent Gardenia and John Mahoney because we get a different perspective on love; one from a older perspective where things are very different from when one looks at it from a young viewpoint.

They do a wonderful job getting across the idea that love can be infectious and in the air just by the way that the moon is aligned and they do it in quite a believable fashion.

I assume that if the leads were played by better actors, I would easily fall madly in love with the great ideas put forth in this film, but just the thought of Cage and Cher together constantly makes me cringe.

Bottom Line – This film is quite good, but it’s slightly over-rated. Cher and Cage have no chemistry together what so ever and it’s kind of torture watching them act together. Gardenia, Mahoney and Dukakis are the true stars of this film and are all wonderful in supporting roles.  The idea of the love in the atmosphere comes across really well and is mostly believable. Perhaps if the leads were played by better actors, it would have been even more enjoyable to watch. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Director Norman Jewison was fined by the actors’ union for not allowing his actors to go to lunch until they perfected the moods of their characters for the climax scene in the kitchen. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

10 thoughts on “Moonstruck (1987)

    • You and the Academy would disagree here. I might split the difference. It was nominated in 6 categories – and won in 3. I would say that Olympia Dukakis absolutely deserved her win as Best Supporting Actress. I thought Cher was terrific. Bear in mind, it was not her 1st Oscar nomination – and considering where she came from – as half of the Sonny & Cher duo dressed like caveman/woman w/ hit songs like “I Got You Babe” – it is an accomplishment on a scale with Sonny being elected to the U.S. Congress (which he was). Her performance WAS Oscar worthy (IMO) – although I could make a case for Meryl Streep, Glenn Close or Holly Hunter in her category as well that year. All gave terrific performances. It also won for Best Original Screenplay for John Patrick Shanley. As a screenwriter – I have no problem with that. I’m a screenwriter and vote for the Writers Guild awards – and probably voted for it. But I also loved the scripts for Hope & Glory, Broadcast News and Radio Days – so again – this was a tough category that year (1986) and on any given day – I could change my mind in a dead heat and vote another way.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1987 |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1987 |

  3. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

  4. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Director – Oscars 1987 |

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Supporting Actor – Oscars 1987 |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actress – Oscars 1987 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.