Movies From the Hat VI #6 – Craig’s Pick – Money Monster (2016)


This is my 3443rd Review

Thanks to  Craig of Cinecal Reviews for this recommendation.

Here are his thoughts on the film.

 

“Shut up, Lee! Shut up! No, no. Do not do that, Lee. Do not do that. You don’t get to pass the buck today, Lee. Not today. Not with me.” – Kyle

Number of Times Seen – 1 (9 Oct 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After losing his money with a bad investment, a man takes a financial TV show host and his crew hostage in order to get justice.

My Take on it – This is a film that I avoided ever since it came out since I’m not really a fan of things dealing with the financial world and I assumed that I would get lost quite easily by much of what happens.

The idea is actually quite interesting and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it despite my previous thoughts about the subject.

My assumption that I would get lost easily with such a subject was also incorrect because they do a fine job “dumbing” down those ideas for people like me who aren’t as familiar with the financial world.

The plot is quite cleverly put together and the pacing of it all works well.

George Clooney and Julia Roberts are both great here (as usual), despite the fact that both of their characters aren’t always likeable the whole way through.

Bottom Line – Interesting idea that worked much better than I would have assumed it would. Clooney and Roberts are both great here (as always) despite playing characters that are in some instances hard to like.  Not being a fan of economics and business, I assumed I would get lost quite easily, but they do a fine job of “dumbing” things down for people who are not so savvy about the inner workings of the stock market and the financial world in general. The plot is quite clever and moves along at a nice pace. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – For scheduling reasons, Julia Roberts and George Clooney didn’t work together a lot in the movie. Roberts shot all of her scenes with green screen on the monitors her character constantly watches. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Movies From the Hat VI #6 – Craig’s Pick – Money Monster (2016)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.