White Sands (1992)


“I’ve never met anyone like you… you’re honest, even when you lie.” – Lane

Number of Times Seen – 1 (Theater in ’92, Cable in the 90’s and 20 Nov 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A sheriff takes the identity of a murdered man in order to try and find out why he was murdered.

My Take on it – I recall seeing this film in the theater on one of my 3 movies in the theater days back in ’92.

On the same evening, I also saw Sneakers (1992) and Pet Semetary II (1992).

This is a feat that I have only managed twice in my life (once in ’92 and once in 2001 when I saw Bandits (2001), Hearts in Atlantis (2001) and The Shipping News (2001).

The story works quite well because it is filled with lots of mystery and intrigue the entire time.

The plot moves along at a great pace and the twists and turns keep coming at us over and over along the way.

Willem Dafoe, Mickey Rourke and Mary Elizabeth Masterantonio are all great largely due to the fact that their characters all have hidden agenda and identities.

The mystery of it all will keep you guessing the whole time.

Samuel L. Jackson is great in a small but very pivotal and significant role

Bottom Line – Interesting story that works most of the time. DaFoe, Rourke and Masterantonio are all playing quite intriguing characters.  The way that the plot evolves as it moves along is great because there are so many twists and turns along the way for us to constantly keep guessing what is truly going on the whole time. Jackson is great in a small yet significant role. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Before Willem Dafoe and Mickey Rourke were cast, Morgan Creek Productions considered Kevin Costner for the lead, and either Jeff Bridges, or Nick Nolte as the Gorman Lennox character. In the end, the three actors’ hefty price tags were too rich for the medium-budgeted production. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “White Sands (1992)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1992 |

  2. Pingback: Pet Sematary II (1992) | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.