Red Sonja (1985)


“Falkon, may I give you a word of advice? Put him over your knee and beat some manners into him.” – Red Sonja

Number of Times Seen – 1 (4 Jul 2018)

Brief Synopsis – A female warrior goes on a quest in order to free a magic orb stolen by a evil Queen.

My Take on it – I have known about this film for more than 30 years yet never had any desire to see it.

Since I’m trying to now watch all of Arnold Schwarzenegger’s films, I decided to finally check this one out.

I now understand why I’ve heard so many bad things about this film; it’s really bad.

It’s hard to even find anything good to say about this film because it’s really terrible.

In a way it feels like a film that tried to copy the ideas from the Conan series, create a female protagonist and just forgot to make it seem interesting at all.

The group of characters chosen to take part in this quest are pretty laughable and even Arnie seems out of place here and is among the worst performances here even if he only has a supporting role here.

The special effects are horrendous and make everything seem so fake which takes away from the ability to even attempt to enjoy this film.

Bottom Line – Terrible and extremely silly film. There is nothing good to say about this one and it just feels like a very mediocre version of a Conan tale with a female protagonist. The members of the group that join the quest are quite laughable and even Arnie comes across really badly in this one because he has too little to do in a supporting role. The special effects are horrendous and look so fake that it’s hard to believe this film’s story.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Arnold Schwarzenegger himself eschews this movie as one of his worst, yet he (laughingly) claims that it’s an excellent disciplinary tool for his children: “I tell them, if they get on my bad side, they’ll be forced to watch Red Sonja (1985) ten times in a row. Consequently, none of my kids has ever given me much trouble.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy (2/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Red Sonja (1985)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1985 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.