Must Love Dogs (2005) – Encore Review


“I want to be in love. I want to wake up next to someone and see them smile, do the whole Sunday breakfast thing, go out and get the paper, stay in bed together all day.” – Sarah

Number of Times Seen – 3 (1 May 2006, 11 Sep 2017 and 12 Dec 2018)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – Two divorcees meet via the Internet and try to see if they are meant for one another.

My Take on it – This is a film that I recalled enjoying when I saw it last year and when my wife suggested that we watch it, I obviously agreed.

Unfortunately, this film isn’t as engaging as I had recalled and that largely has to do with the strange chemistry between the main characters that just doesn’t work well enough.

Both John Cusack and Diane Lane are great actors but a romantic comedy needs to make you want to see the characters get together instead of feeling that they are completely wrong for one another like in this film.

The film does a great job though of showing some very interesting anecdotes about modern dating in the age of the Internet.

The use of characters from various ages helps show how universal this method has become and why it can be a good choice for anyone regardless of how young or old they are.

The supporting cast is quite good with Christopher Plummer once again standing out among them all as a 70-something romantic constantly seeking new love.

Bottom Line – Not as great as I recalled largely due to the lack of real chemistry between the characters. Both Cusack and Lane are great actors but they clash too much here and it’s hard to imagine them getting together. This film has some great anecdotes about dating in the modern world and the use of various age ranges helps show how universal it is regardless of ones age.  Supporting cast is quite good with Plummer standing out among them all.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When Sarah and Bob bump into each other at the dog park, there is a table set up with an animal rescue group called Animal Avengers. This is in fact a real rescue group founded by actress Shannon Elizabeth. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (6/10) (downgrade from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Must Love Dogs (2005) – Encore Review

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2005 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.