Genre Guesstimation – The Limey (1999)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by Amanda of Hollywood Consumer and we will be reviewing our favorite L.A. Films.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Oct by sending them to la_amanda@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Amanda!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of L.A. Films.

“I’m looking for a different kind of satisfaction.” – Wilson

Number of Times Seen – 1 (7 Oct 2019)

Brief Synopsis – A man travels to Los Angeles in order to enact revenge on the man he feels is responsible for the death of his daughter.

My Take on it – This is a film that I came across while doing research for films that take place in LA and I had no clue what to expect.

I hoped that the fact that it starred Terrance Stamp and Peter Fonda would make it quite enjoyable to watch.

Unfortunately, I was quite wrong.

As great an actor as Stamp is, he feels quite miscast in this role and his character ends up giving off a much more comedic vibe than a threatening one as one would expect from such a character.

Fonda also doesn’t manage to do his character justice and he also comes off as feeling much too humorous in his role because it’s so hard to take him seriously as a gangster.

His character is described as having a very devious nature and reputation, yet he doesn’t give off that kind of feeling at all and instead he is presented in a very strange way throughout this film.

The best part of this film is the fact that it has a relatively short run time of about 80 minutes which doesn’t force us to endure this story for even the average length of most films.

Bottom Line – Really boring film that doesn’t work at all.  Stamp feels very miscast in the lead role and gives off a more comedic vibe than a threatening one as his character should be. Fonda also is quite humorous in his role and also doesn’t live up to the kind of reputation that his character should have based on the way others describe him. The action is quite hilarious and is presented in a very strange way.  Thankfully, this film is quite short and doesn’t make us endure as much pain as it would have if it’s run time was even longer.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – During filming, Steven Soderbergh was unsure exactly which scenes from Poor Cow (1967) he wanted to use. So he asked Warner Bros. for permission to use the entire film so that he could choose the scenes later. But Warner Bros. refused. Soderbergh told the head of Warner Bros. that he would never make a film for him again. The executive relented and allowed Soderbergh to use any scenes from the film that he wished. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not all. Really boring and tedious film that fails to work on many levels.

Rating – Razzie Worthy (3/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

3 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – The Limey (1999)

  1. I can’t agree with your view on The Limey, Rob.
    I find the movie exceptional and I really admire the way in which Soderburgh reveals his story.
    Terence Stamp (in my opinion) gives a first class performance in the lead; he reminded me of how Carter may have aged if that character had not been killed in Get Carter.
    One of the many great facets of movie watching is that of differing opinions; I believe The Limey to be exceptional.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Genre Grandeur October Finale – Hollywoodland (2006) – Hollywood Consumer | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.