The So Bad it’s Good Blogathon – Deep Blue Sea (1999) – Encore Review


This is a post dedicated to The Third So Bad It’s Good Blogathon! taking place over at Taking Up Room this weekend.

Tnx Rebecca for letting me take part!

“Einstein’s theory of relativity. Grab hold of a hot pan, second can seem like an hour. Put your hands on a hot woman, an hour can seem like a second. It’s all relative” – Preacher

Number of Times Seen – Twice (7 May 2017 and 2 Feb 2021)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A group of scientists on a secluded aquatic station try to find a way to survive after the genetically enhanced sharks get loose.

My Take on it – Such a fun movie despite the stupidity of all of the characters along the way.

This is a film that I saw a few years ago and chalked it up as being just a generic monster film.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been listening to the minute by minute (or actually chapter by chapter) analysis of this film by my good friends Mark and Jay on the Deep Blue Sea Podcast and now have gained such amazing knowledge on this film that my outlook was completely changed upon this viewing.

The characters might all be quite silly in what they say or do, but the story is put together so well from start to finish that it helps keep things so entertaining and suspenseful the entire time.

The premise is a mixture of themes used in many other films, yet they manage to find a very unique way to show this story in a very engaging and thrilling way.

Renny Harlin was a great director in the 90’s and knows how to create really suspenseful and seat gripping action scenes and this film truly delivers in that aspect.

The cast is great with Saffron Burrows, Thomas Jane, Jacqueline McKensie, Michael Rapaport, LL Cool J, Stellan Skarsgard and Samuel L. Jackson who are all there just to be shark fodder, but they still keep things fun and interesting the whole way through.

The special effects are fine, but there are some scenes where it’s very easy to see how much effects have progressed in 22 years to make things look even more realistic.

I’m so glad that I listened to the podcast by Mark and Jay because it helped open my eyes up to so many parts of this film that I never would have thought about had I not heard it. (i.e. the Menu in the mess hall, the science of the film, the miscalculations and obviously the doors that open).

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – For one scene, Thomas Jane had to swim alongside a real live shark. He was only allowed to shoot this once he had completed all of his other scenes. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (8/10) (upgrade from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “The So Bad it’s Good Blogathon – Deep Blue Sea (1999) – Encore Review

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.