Michael Clayton (2007) – Encore Review


“You’re my meal ticket, Marty. If you leave, it’s just me and Barry in a room and I’m trying to explain what the hell it is I do around here.” – Michael Clayton

Number of Times Seen – 3 (10 Feb 2008, 23 Dec 2013 and 5 May 2021)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – An attorney who works as a ‘fixer’ for his law firm is given an important task where he must deal with the mental breakdown of his latest client.

My Take on it – Gripping thriller that keeps the viewer fixating from start to finish.

The script is written really well and manages to stay engaging throughout.

The dialogue is delivered in such a eat way that it helps keep things quite interesting despite dealing with some very complex issues throughout.

George Clooney leads and all star cast here including Tom Wilkinson, Tilda Swinton and  Sydney Pollack and despite the story revolving around the corporate world, their performances keep the audience mesmerized throughout.

The characters are all fascinating to watch and seem so entrenched in everything that they do which helps keep the story moving at a superb pace.

Swinton deservingly won an Oscar for her work in this film as Supporting Actress despite the fact that the film itself lost its other 6 Oscar bids that year including Best Picture and Best Director.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia –  Early on in the process of making this film, director Tony Gilroy secured Sydney Pollack as one of the producers. Gilroy said in an interview, regarding Pollack, “He read the script and wanted to direct it himself, and I told him I was saving it for me.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (8/10) (upgrade from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.