Kill Bill Volume 2 (2004)


kb2“Now, a staple of the superhero mythology is, there’s the superhero and there’s the alter ego. Batman is actually Bruce Wayne, Spider-Man is actually Peter Parker. When that character wakes up in the morning, he’s Peter Parker. He has to put on a costume to become Spider-Man. And it is in that characteristic Superman stands alone. Superman didn’t become Superman. Superman was born Superman. When Superman wakes up in the morning, he’s Superman. His alter ego is Clark Kent. His outfit with the big red “S”, that’s the blanket he was wrapped in as a baby when the Kents found him. Those are his clothes. What Kent wears – the glasses, the business suit – that’s the costume. That’s the costume Superman wears to blend in with us. Clark Kent is how Superman views us. And what are the characteristics of Clark Kent. He’s weak… he’s unsure of himself… he’s a coward. Clark Kent is Superman’s critique on the whole human race.”  – Bill

Number of Times Seen – 2 (on DVD and 12 March 2013)

Brief Synopsis – The continuing adventures of The Bride as she seeks her revenge on those who tried to kill her

My Take on it – I cant say I loved this movie and cant say I hated it. I was quite happy to see that Tarantino once again made great use of his dialogue-style (read the quote above), but the story seemed to drag on too much (even more-so than Volume 1) and it felt as if Tarantino was just trying to fill space at certain points.

Uma Thurman was once again perfect as The Bride, and having Michael Madson, Darryl Hannah and David Carradine along for the ride was very fun.

Bottom Line – Dialogue is better than the first part, but plot is even weaker, but still a worthy chapter in the Tarantino canon.

Rating – Globe Worthy

10 thoughts on “Kill Bill Volume 2 (2004)

  1. I agree. I enjoyed vol. 1 better. Vol. 1 was quick and to the point. Vol. 2 took a long time to get to the point. I especially liked the first half of vol. 1 and I wish that the whole movie would have been more like that half. I like your review.

    Like

    • Thanks Brock.
      I loved that quote tho since Im a big superhero fan and never thought about it until QT pointed out that fact. IMHO that was the best part of the movie 🙂

      Like

  2. Funny coincidence, I watched Vol. 1 on march 3 and vol. 2 on march 6th right around the time that you watched it on march 12th. It’s funny how often that type of thing happens. I’ll watch a random movie and out of the blue I’ll hear something about that movie in close proximity to the time that I watched it. If I hadn’t watched that movie, would I not have heard something about it around the time that I almost watched it. I guess that’s kinda like if a tree falls in the woods and nobody is there…

    Like

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2004 |

  5. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #5 – Quentin Tarantino Films |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actress – Oscars 2004 | MovieRob

  7. Pingback: 8KQT #7 – Kill Bill Vol. 2 (2004) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.