Temporal Top Ten – 2004


2004
top ten

Number of movies seen from this year – 102
Number of movies reviewed – 63 (Including 0 Encore Reviews)

2004 was an interesting year for me in my life. It was the year I got married for the first time and I was also in the Police Academy for the first 5 months of the year.

Of my top ten this year, only 2 of them were actually seen in the theater due to me having a very busy year (#3 and #7)

My #1 is a movie that I saw two years later and due to my impending divorce at the time, I felt a very strong connection to the characters and their situations.  I still believe that it’s Payne’s best movie.

As you can see, only 3 of the 5 Best Picture Nominees made my list; I am not a fan of The Aviator at all, and I enjoyed Ray, but it still didn’t make the list.

I can’t say that this was the strongest year for movies overall, but there are definitely some enjoyable films on the list.

If I ever make a top 10/20 or even a top 30 of the decade, I’d be very surprised if anything beyond #2 make it.

 

My Top Tenbefore sunset

10. Before Sunsetjersey girl9. Jersey Girli robot8. I, Robotmillion dollar

7. Million Dollar Babybutterfly effect

6. The Butterfly Effectmiracle

5. Miracleincredibles

4. The Incrediblesfinding neverland

3. Finding Neverlandempire

2. Empire of Dreams: The Story of the ‘Star Wars’ Trilogysideways

1. Sideways

Here’s a complete list of movies that I’ve seen from 2004

  1. 3-Iron
  2. 50 First Dates
  3. 5ive Days to Midnight
  4. 9 Songs
  5. Ae Fond Kiss…
  6. Alamo, The
  7. Alexander
  8. Along Came Polly
  9. Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
  10. AVP: Alien vs. Predator
  11. Assassination of Richard Nixon, The
  12. Aviator, The
  13. Before Sunset
  14. Bourne Supremacy, The
  15. Butterfly Effect, The
  16. C.S.A.: The Confederate States of America
  17. Catwoman
  18. Cellular
  19. Characters of ‘Star Wars’, The
  20. Chasing Liberty
  21. Chronicles of Riddick, The
  22. Clearing, The
  23. Closer
  24. Collateral
  25. Crash
  26. Dawn of the Dead
  27. Day After Tomorrow, The
  28. Dead Man’s Shoes
  29. Dear Frankie
  30. Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights
  31. Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story
  32. Downfall
  33. Empire of Dreams: The Story of the ‘Star Wars’ Trilogy
  34. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
  35. Fahrenheit 9/11
  36. Fat Albert
  37. Final Cut, The
  38. Finding Neverland
  39. Five People You Meet in Heaven, The
  40. Flight of the Phoenix
  41. Forgotten, The
  42. Friday Night Lights
  43. Garden State
  44. Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle
  45. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  46. Hellboy
  47. Hotel Rwanda
  48. I, Robot
  49. I Inside, The
  50. Ike: Countdown to D-Day
  51. Imaginary Witness: Hollywood and the Holocaust
  52. In Good Company
  53. Incredibles, The
  54. Jersey Girl
  55. Kill Bill: Vol. 2
  56. Kinsey
  57. Ladder 49
  58. Layer Cake
  59. Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, The
  60. Looking for Kitty
  61. Machinist, The
  62. Man on Fire
  63. Manchurian Candidate, The
  64. Meet the Fockers
  65. Merchant of Venice, The
  66. Mickey, Donald, Goofy: The Three Musketeers
  67. Million Dollar Baby
  68. Millions
  69. Mindhunters
  70. Miracle
  71. Mr 3000
  72. Napoleon Dynamite
  73. National Treasure
  74. Notebook, The
  75. Ocean’s Twelve
  76. Paper Clips
  77. Perfect Score, The
  78. Phantom of the Opera, The
  79. Polar Express, The
  80. Primer
  81. Raising Helen
  82. Rent-A-Person
  83. Ray
  84. Salem’s Lot
  85. Secret Window
  86. Septem8er Tapes
  87. Shaun of the Dead
  88. Shrek 2
  89. Sideways
  90. Six Shooter
  91. Spanglish
  92. Speak
  93. Spider-Man 2
  94. Starsky & Hutch
  95. Stepford Wives, The
  96. Terminal, The
  97. Time and Chance: Gerald Ford’s Appointment with History
  98. Troy
  99. Ushpizin
  100. The Village, The
  101. Welcome to Mooseport
  102. Woodsman, The

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 2004

  1. Rob, you’re breaking my heart! No Five People? No Spider-Man 2? Some of these I need to see, but 3 and 8 didn’t thrill me like those two. Something the Lord Made is also really good. Still planning to see Sideways sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

Let me Know what you think!!

