Up the Creek (1984)


1984 Up The Creek“Let’s just say I slipped on a bar of soap in the shower as a bus ran out of control and crashed into the medicine cabinet.”– Bob McGraw

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (Theater, DVD, 14 Aug 2013)

Brief Synopsis – A group of 4 college misfits must win a white water raft in order to graduate.

My Take on it – This is one of those movies that I loved as a kid and upon re-watching it at this stage n my life, close to 30 years later, I still really enjoyed it.

In the late 70’s – early 80’s, many teen movies came out that were basically sex romp movies.  Perfect examples of movie in this genre were Animal House (1979), Porky’s (1982), Revenge of the Nerds (1984).

I remember seeing this movie in the theater as a kid with some of my older siblings and once again I am amazed that I watched a movie like this at that age.

The movie stars Tim Matheson, Jennifer Runyon, Stephen Furst, James Sikking, Dan Monahan and John Hillerman.

I can’t say this movie’s plot is sane, but keeping within the parameters of  the genre, they do it very well.  The whole idea of 4 screw-ups trying to win a race to help their school is pure stupidity, but it’s fun and entertaining and that’s a very important quality in a good movie.

Most of the comic lines are clever and you have to pay attention to get most of the jokes, but if you do, hopefully you will also enjoy it.

Bottom Line – Great and funny movie. Brings back many old memories. Recommended.

Rating – Globe Worthy

4 thoughts on “Up the Creek (1984)

  1. Pingback: Yours, Mine and Ours (1968) | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

  4. Pingback: Genre Grandeur – Up The Creek (1984) – Encore Review – MovieRob | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.