Mister Roberts (1955)


mister roberts[reading a letter from Mr. Roberts] “Right now I’m looking at something that’s hanging over my desk. A preposterous hunk of brass attached to the most bilious piece of ribbon I’ve ever seen. I’d rather have it than the Congressional Medal of Honor. It tells me what I’ll always be proudest of: That at a time in the world when courage counted most I lived among 62 brave men.” – Ensign Pulver

Number of Times Seen – 1  (11 Mar 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A captain and his first officer are at odds while on duty in The Pacific during the final days of WWII

My Take on it – This movie, directed by John Ford and starring Henry Fonda, Jack Lemmon, William Powell, Ward Bond and James Cagney is superb.

The characters and dialogue are written so well that we automatically feel comfortable with them all.

This movie, which is based on a play that won numerous Tony Awards, expertly takes the idea of conflict between a ship’s Captain and his Executive Officer to a level that was never done before.  Fonda and Cagney are both great in their respective roles and perfectly show the viewer two differing opinions on how to command men on a ship during wartime.

This is the kind of gem that I love to discover because it’s the type of movie that I will enjoy seeing numerous times over the years.

Jack Lemmon won his first Oscar (as supporting actor) for this movie.

Bottom Line – Excellent script.  Story and characters written extremely well.  Expertly takes military command conflicts to a higher level.  Cast is amazing!. Highly Recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

12 thoughts on “Mister Roberts (1955)

  1. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Ensign Pulver (1964) | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: MovieRob’s Top Ten for Newly Viewed Pre-2014 releases |

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1955 |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actor – Oscars 1955 |

  7. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Supporting Actor – Oscars 1955 |

  8. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1955 | MovieRob

  9. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – July 2019 – James Cagney

  10. Pingback: Mister Roberts (1955) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.