Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)


indiana jones and the last crusade“I’m like a bad penny, I always turn up.” – Indiana Jones

Number of Times Seen –Way too many to count (A few times in the theater, cable, video, DVD, 14 Apr 2000 and 24 Apr 2014)

Brief Synopsis – The continuing adventures of Indiana Jones.  This time he must try to find the Holy Grail before the Nazi’s are able to get their hands on it.

My Take on it – I recall when this came out in the summer of 1989, it was one of the most anticipated movies of the summer and when I saw it in the theater (a few times), I really really enjoyed it.

What makes this movie work so well was the pairing of Harrison Ford and Sean Connery as father and son (eventhough there is only a 12 years age difference between them.)

Their banter makes this movie so much fun to watch and even just listen to.

Apparently, Spielberg wanted this movie to be lighter than the previous one and decided that added a lot of small comedic moments between the two characters was the way to go.

He was completely right in doing so because it creates such a fun atmosphere for a movie dealing with Nazis, immortality and father-son relationships.

They should have stopped after this one.

John Williams score here is amazing and I can listen to it over and over.

It’s one of my favorite pieces of movie music as it incorporates some of the music from the previous movies, but also has its own voice.

My favorite scene in this movie is when Indy is in Berlin and “accidentally” meets Hitler who thinks he wants an autograph. 🙂

Bottom Line – A very fun and worthy sequel. Ford and Connery are excellent together. Most light-hearted of the Indy movies. Highly recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

9 thoughts on “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1989 |

  3. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #15 – Stephen Spielberg Films |

  4. Pingback: Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade (1989) – Encore Review |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.