Eyes Wide Shut (1999)


 Eyeswideshut4“Bill, do you have any idea how much trouble you got yourself into last night just by going over there? Who do you think those people were? Those were not just some ordinary people. If I told you their names… no, I’m not going to tell you their names… but if I did, I don’t think you’d sleep so well at night.” – Victor Ziegler

Number of Times Seen – 2 (17 Feb 2001 and 17 Jun 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A New York city socialite couple get involved in things way beyond their comprehension after attending a party given by friends.

My Take on it – I saw this movie 13 years ago and was baffled by it and then and upon re-watching it now, I’m still baffled by it.

I truly have no clue what Kubrick was trying to say here and to me it all seems like a garbled message on morality and trust, but I’m not even sure about that.

Basically, I hated this movie (even with the gratuitous nudity) and if anyone out there can try and explain this one to me, I’d be more than happen to try and get a better understanding.

I like to think that I’m kinda a smart guy, but this one went waaaaaaaaaaaayyy over my head.

I say skip it!

Bottom Line – Not sure what message this movie is trying to tell.  Found the whole thing completely pointless.  Stay away

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

10 thoughts on “Eyes Wide Shut (1999)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: MovieRob’s Monthly Roundup – June 2014 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

  4. Pingback: The Lamb’s November 2019 MOTM – My Rankings | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.