Jack (1996)


jack “You know why I like to teach children, Jack? So I don’t get so wrapped up in being an adult. So I can remember there are other things that are important in life – like riding a bike, playing in a treehouse, splashing in water with your good shoes on. And you, my friend, were my most special student. And until recently, you were everything I ever wanted in a student. You were a shooting star amongst ordinary stars.” – Lawrence Woodruff

Number of Times Seen – Between 5-10 times (Theater in 1996, Video, DVD, 23 Jun 2000 and 29 Jul 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A boy with a genetic disorder that makes him physically grow 4 times as fast as anyone else enrolls in school in order to be more like a real kid.

My Take on it – I remember that I first saw this film in the theater on a blind date that I didn’t want to be on.  At least I enjoyed the movie! 🙂

This movie is wonderful in just about every way possible.

Unlike the way that Tom Hanks had to act in Big (1988) like a kid pretending to be an adult (which in itself is not so simple), Robin Williams had the task of acting like a 10 year old in this film.

He fit into the role so easily because we all know that the crazy Williams is perfect for this kind of character.  He was great with his child co-stars and ALSO with the adult co-stars.

Watching him play the role of a child reminded me of Williams’ mentor Jonathan Winters’ role in Mork and Mindy as a child.

This movie has moments of sheer laughter but also some tender ones that give off a message of living life to the fullest no matter what.

Bill Cosby is also amazing here as a teacher.  It’s interesting to know that he hasn’t appeared in a movie since

The theme song of this movie is by Bryan Adams and I always get very emotional whenever I listen to it.

Here’s the clip.

 

 

Bottom Line – Williams is amazing as a ten year old kid.  Has great chemistry with the child actors and ALSO with the adult actors. His performance is reminiscent of his mentor Jonathan Winter’s role on the TV show Mork and Mindy.  Very funny and also moving film that has so much for everyone.  Highly Recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Jack (1996)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1996 |

  3. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #13 – Robin Williams Films |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.