Weird Science (1985)


weird science“When are you gonna learn that people will like you for who you are, not for what you can give them.” – Lisa

 Number of Times Seen – Between 5-10 times  (Theater in ’85, cable, video and 1 Sep 2014)

Brief Synopsis – Two teen losers create a woman via their computer in order to find love.

My Take on it – Ilan Mitchell-Smith and Anthony Michael Hall were both great in their roles of Wyatt and Gary.

I saw this numerous times on cable as a kid and loved it every time.

Rewatching it as an adult, I feel that it really isnt as good in general as my memories tell me it was.

Regardless, it’s still a fun rewatch especially if you just think of it as one of John Hughes’ typical teen comedies sprinkled with a bit of fairy dust to give us an interesting sci-fi kinda twist to it.

It always amazes me how movie makers always knew that computers have greater capabilities than anyone ever thought they could.

Obviously, one cannot really do what they do here, but the idea of combining computers, geeks and Frankenstein all together in a teen comedy works on numerous levels.

Bottom Line – This was much better when I watched it as a kid, but still an enjoyable nostalgic rewatch. Fun movie with an interesting twist to the typical teen comedy. Recommended

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

11 thoughts on “Weird Science (1985)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. i think Weird Science is now my favorite movie. I like Sixteen Candles and The Breakfast Club is cool but Weird Science is definitely my type of movie, besides Wyatt is a total hottie.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Sixteen Candles (1984) |

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1985 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.