Sixteen Candles (1984)


sc“That’s why they call them crushes. If they were easy, they’d call ’em something else.” – Jim Baker

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (Theater, video, DVD, 19 Jun 2013)

Brief Synopsis – Samantha Baker just turned 16 and no one seems to remember that today is her birthday

My Take on it – It’s actually quite funny that I remember seeing this movie in the theater when I was 10.  I don’t think that I would let my kids see it at that age.

This was the movie that started it all; John Hughes was a writer who was given this movie as his first chance to direct.  Who knew back then that this would propel him (and his new genre) to fame.  This movie was followed by The Breakfast Club (1985), Weird Science (1985), Pretty in Pink (1986), Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986), Planes, Trains and Automobiles (1987) and of course Home Alone (1990).

I was reminded about re-watching this by Cinema Parrot Disco, who based on my reading of her blog, in still in love with Jake Ryan even after 30 years.

Hughes knew so well how the minds of 80’s teens worked and I think that’s the main reason his movies resonated so well back then and were so popular.  What teen didn’t feel forgotten? experience detention?, or  feel the need to take a “sick” day?

I will always have fond memories on how John Hughes affected my life.

Bottom Line – Great 80’s teen flick, launched a new very popular genre (John Hughes Teen comedies), Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

7 thoughts on “Sixteen Candles (1984)

  1. Pingback: The Breakfast Club (1985) | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Six Pack (1982) | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

  5. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #10 – Brat Pack Films From the 80’s |

  6. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #17 – John Hughes Films |

  7. Pingback: Let’s Get Harry (1986) |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.