007 December – A View To A Kill (1985) – MovieRob


007-December Blogathon

 Thanks to Luke and Vicki for their reviews earlier today!

view to a kill“So, anyone else want to drop out?” – Max Zorin

Number of Times Seen – Between 10-20 times (Theater in ’85, cable, video, DVD and 15 Dec 2014)

Brief Synopsis – Bond is sent on a mission to find out what an eccentric billionaite wants with stolen computer chips.

My Take on it – I know that a lot of people are gonna disagree with me on this one, but this is actually one of my all time favorite bond films.

I can watch it over and over and never get bored.

Perhaps I like it so much because of the ‘fun-ness’ of it all.

Maybe it’s because Christopher Walken is such s great psychopath villain who is devious and kiniving, but also completely and clearly insane throughout the whole movie. He gets my vote for being the best Bond criminal mastermind/psychopath by far when picking from any of the movies.

Then again, maybe it all has to do with the amazing soundtrack, score and title song by Duran Duran that is so 80’s that I find myself humming the tune all the time.

In addition to all that music, we are even treated to a snow covered adventure scene that even includes a Beach Boys hit to go along for the ride.

Or maybe is just has to do with having been a very impressionable 11 year old who fell in love with the movie and its storyline.

Regardless of the reasoning behind why I love this one, it was a great way for a 58 year old Roger Moore to finally hang up his hat.

Yes, he was too old for the part, but we can all wish to look and feel like that at 58.

Bottom Line – Perhaps my favorite Bond movie. Very fun and campy premise and execution. Walken is by far the best Bond villain of them all. Great music by Duran Duran. Highly recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

 

Here’s the main title song:

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “007 December – A View To A Kill (1985) – MovieRob

  1. A pretty poor Bond film but, like you, I’m fond of it. Gotta love Grace Jones and Walken (and a Dolph cameo!) and John Barry’s score is really good and bombastic. Tanya Roberts could be the all time worst Bond actress, however! Finally: “there’s a fly in his soup.” Nuff said.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 007 December – Skyfall (2012) – MovieRob (Encore Review) |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1985 |

  4. Pingback: James Bond Month – A View to a Kill (1985) Movie Rob’s Pick | Movie Reviews 101

  5. Pingback: Movie Reviews 101 ABC Film Challenge – A View To A Kill (1985) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.