E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982) (Encore Review)


e.t.“You must be dead, because I don’t know how to feel. I can’t feel anything anymore. ” – Elliot

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count  (Few times in Theater in ’82, cable, video, DVD, 11 Mar 2002, 3 Jul 2014 and 20 Mar 2015)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – An alien from another planet accidently gets left behind on Earth and is found and befriended by a young boy.

My Take on it – Once again I had the opportunity to watch one of the movies that made me love the wonders of cinema and share that experience with my kids.

Its obviously impossible to exactly duplicate the experience that I had when I saw this movie in the theater when I was 8, but just the ability to be there to share with my kids their first viewing of this classic was an experience of its own.

Steven Spielberg knows how to make compelling and engrossing movies by adding all of the elements that make us want to love the movies he makes.

By giving us a great story, memorable and loveable characters and music to get us into the action we can easily be drawn into what’s happening on the screen while hoping the experience will never end.

Bottom Line – Excellent story that includes so many of the elements that make a great movie. Proof once again of Spielberg’s genius when it comes to making movies. Very nostalgic for me and to have been able to share the experience with my kids was so amazing. Highly recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia –  The filmmakers had requested that M&M’s be used to lure E.T., instead of Reese’s Pieces. The Mars company had denied their request and so Reese’s Pieces were used instead. As a direct result, Reese’s Pieces sales skyrocketed. Because of this, more and more companies began requesting that their products be used in movies – a common practice which was done previously with the James Bond film franchise (the end credits of a Bond film prior to 1982 have had their end credits when contributing companies had their product used in a feature film). Thus, product placement was born. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

14 thoughts on “E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982) (Encore Review)

  1. That’s crazy the Mars company said no. I bet they were kicking themselves afterwards! That trivia is cool.

    This movie is the epitome of ‘classic.’ Perfect choice for an Encore review Rob.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1982 |

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

  5. Pingback: Second Annual Barrymore Blogathon – Irreconcilable Differences (1984) |

  6. Pingback: Second Annual Barrymore Blogathon – Mad Love (1995) |

  7. Pingback: Second Annual Barrymore Blogathon – Big Miracle (2012) |

  8. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #15 – Stephen Spielberg Films |

  9. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Director – Oscars 1982 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.