Swiss Army Man (2016)


swiss-army-man-poster“If you don’t know Jurassic Park, you don’t know sh*t.” – Hank

Number of Times Seen – 1 (25 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A man on a deserted island finds a dead body and the two of them go on a journey to try and get back to civilization together.

My Take on it – I have heard for months how great a film this one is and was quite excited to finally see it.

Unfortunately, it isn’t the kind of film that I normally would like and things were a bit too weird for me.

Daniel Radcliffe really is great here as a dead body and it’s amazing that he did most of teh scenes and stunts, but the story just wasn’t able to pull me in.

Yes, this film can be quite crude in certain scenes, but those aspects didn’t bother me per se, it was the overall premise that just didn’t do it for me.

The dialogue is quite witty and interesting in many scenes and those parts clearly stick out for me as being some of the best parts of this film.

I really liked the way that the music was all acapella and since I’m a huge fan of John Williams’ music, the fact that the theme from Jurassic Park (1993) plays an important role in this film was nice to hear it keep popping up.

Overall tho, this was just too weird for me and despite being a unique idea, it just wasn’t the kind of thing that I can connect to no matter how hard I try.

Bottom Line -Radcliffe is great here, but the story just wasn’t my kind of film.  The crudeness of many scenes didn’t bother me, but I just didn’t like how the story was presented to us. The dialogue is witty and even interesting in some instances but overall, despite feeling unique, this film just wasn’t my kind of thing.  Liked the way the music score was done and being a fan of Jurassic Park (1993), I loved how the theme kept popping up.  Overall tho, this film was too weird for me.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Songs are all acapella and are written and recorded by Andy Hull of Manchester Orchestra and Robert McDowell. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Swiss Army Man (2016)

  1. I liked how it showed there is no place for people outside of the cookie cutter suburban walls. I really connected with this film. Sorry you didn’t like it so much. I agree it is weird but that’s because they are breaking down expectations of society and showing you raw humanity. Just my take.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.