Annie Hall (1977)


anniehall“My grammy never gave gifts. She was too busy getting raped by Cossacks.” – Alvy Singer

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (video, DVD, 20 Jun 2013)

Brief Synopsis – Alvy Singer is an up-and-coming comedian and falls in love with the quirky Annie Hall. Will his love survive?

My Take on it – I’m generally not a big fan of Woody Allen movies, but here he really hit the nail on the head.  His neurotic character is both serious and humorous which makes us like him and root for him throughout.

Diane Keaton is great as the title character.

There are so many classic scenes here that I cant even choose my favorite, but I really love the cocaine scene and the scene where his childhood friend’s describe what they are doing now.

Winner of 4 Oscars including Picture, Director, Writing and Actress (Keaton). It only lost best Actor for Allen himself.

I must note that this is the movie that beat out Star Wars (1977) for Best Picture which in retrospect seems absurd, but there was no way that the academy voters would have chosen a sci-fi movie back then.

Perhaps it will happen one day soon.

I think that Rob Reiner did it better in When Harry Met Sally (1989), but this is a close second when it comes to neurotic romantic comedies.

Bottom Line – Funny movie, Allen plays himself best. Highly Recommended

Rating – Oscar Worthy