89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #7 – Hannah and Her Sisters (1986)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my Seventh review of the 89 chosen Films…

hannah“How the hell do I know why there were Nazis? I don’t know how the can opener works! ” – Mickey’s Father

Number of Times Seen – 1 (6 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Numerous intermingling stories of several members of an extended family as they all deal with life, love and other related family issues.

My Take on it – I have been a fan of Woody Allen’s work for many years but avoided this movie because I didn’t thing the premise sounded interesting enough.

Thankfully, I was wrong and this film is easily my second favorite of his films after Annie Hall (1977).

The story, script and dialogue are all perfectly written and together they help create realistic and vivid characters.

The characters interactions are done quite well and there is fluid transitions between the characters and scenes.

Allen gives us yet another film with a cast who seems expertly chosen for all roles.

Michael Caine and Diane Wiest both won supporting role Oscars for their roles here and they definitely do wonderful jobs as these quirky characters.

The thing I loved the most about this film tho is the fact that the characters are so easy to connect with and I felt that the amount of time we have with them just isn’t enough and I wanted to see even more about their lives and interactions.

Bottom Line – Allen is brilliant here and creates such vivid and realistic characters.  The dialogue is superbly written and I loved the fluid interactions between the characters. As always, the cast is expertly chosen with Wiest and Caine winning Oscars for their work. Really connected with the characters and wished I could spend more time with them. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – According to USA Today, when the film was released, a movement tried to make Woody Allen’s script the first screenplay to be nominated for a Pulitzer Prize. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

8 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #7 – Hannah and Her Sisters (1986)

  1. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1986 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1986 |

  4. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – October 2017 – Carrie Fisher

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Director – Oscars 1986 |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Supporting Actor – Oscars 1986 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.