89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #25 – Cries & Whispers (1972)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 25th review of the 89 chosen Films…


cries-and-whispers-viskningar-och-rop-29896

“It is early Monday morning and I am in pain. ” – Agnes

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A dying woman is being taken care of by her sisters and her servant during her final days.

My Take on it – I’m pretty sure that this was the very first Ingmar Bergman film that I’ve seen and I can’t say I was that impressed with it.

This was much too “artistic” and existential for my tastes and was very disjointed because it doesn’t have a clear cut narrative.

Perhaps, this is a defect within me, but I know what I like and this just wasn’t in line with the kind of films I can enjoy.

Thankfully, this film was relatively short and therefore I didn’t suffer for too long because of that.

I’m sure many people will disagree with me on this one, but that’s what’s so great about film reviews,; we all have different likes and dislikes and our opinions differ.  If we all liked the same things all the time, movie watching would be boring and tedious.

I’m still completely confused how this got nominated for Best Picture, but I guess smarter people than me make those decisions.

Bottom Line -Totally didn’t like this film at all.  It was too “artistic” for me and doesn’t have a very easily understandable narrative.  Thankfully it was relatively short, so I didn’t suffer for too long.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Bergman, who produced the film with his own money, could not find an American distributor as they felt it was too uncommercial. Roger Corman, who had just left American-International Pictures to set up his own New World releasing company, was in the market for a prestige picture to give his new operation some class. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

8 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #25 – Cries & Whispers (1972)

  1. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – Dec 2016 |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1972 |

  3. Pingback: 89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #35 – The Emigrants (1971) |

  4. Pingback: 89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #37 – Z (1969) |

  5. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1973 |

  7. Pingback: Movies From the Hat V #26 – Mutant’s Pick – The Neon Demon (2016) |

Let me Know what you think!!

