Predator (1987)


pred“She says the jungle… it just came alive and took him.” – Poncho

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (Theater in ’87, video, DVD, 19 Mar 2007 and 3 Sep 2013)

Brief Synopsis – A group of commandos are sent to Central America to rescue a few diplomats and get involved in something they never expected.

My Take on it – I saw this movie in the theater after it came out with a friend who (since we were both only 13 at the time) lied to his parents as to what movie we were going to see.  My parents never really cared (for some strange reason).  As a parent myself now, I am quite concerned as to what movies or TV shows my young children watch, dunno why my parents didn’t care, but I guess I cant really complain about that now 🙂

I had already seen a number of Arnie flicks in the theater and on cable, so I was highly anticipating this one.

I was definitely pleased with the results (as I still am 26 years later).

This movie has all one can ask for in an Arnie action flick; lots of action, great Arnie one-liners and best of all lots of blood and guts (literally) that are done in the way they should be done in an action movie, not done to be gory.

This is definitely the best of the Predator movies, but I quite enjoyed Predators (2010).  Predator II (1990) was weak and seemed strange to have the Predator wreak havoc in the city.  The reason this is better than the others is that here we have an unknown assailant and in the others we already know who is hunting our heroes.

Bottom Line – Great Arnie flick, probably one of his best. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

14 thoughts on “Predator (1987)

  1. Pingback: Last Stand (2013) | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1987 |

  4. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #3 – Arnold Schwartznegger Films |

  5. Pingback: The Predator (2018) |

  6. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – July 2018 – Arnold Schwarzenegger

  7. Pingback: ABC Film Challenge – Action – F – Firewalker (1986) Movie Rob’s selection | Movie Reviews 101

  8. Pingback: Movie Reviews 101 ABC Film Challenge – Firewalker (1986) | MovieRob

  9. Pingback: Action Jackson (1988) | MovieRob

  10. Pingback: Predator (1987) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.